Can a power station run an electric heater?
Advertising disclosure: This page contains no affiliate links.
The short answer: often no, or not for long. Portable heaters are made to use a lot of power: Dimplex lists an upright ceramic fan heater at 2,000 W and De'Longhi an oil-filled radiator at 2,000 W on its top setting (Dimplex UK; De'Longhi UK). Even where a power station's continuous AC output covers that, an hour at 2,000 W uses 2,000 Wh, about twice what a 1,000 Wh power station stores. A small heater or a low setting can run, but only for a short time.
Compared on manufacturers' published specs. Ferncharge has not tested these products. Estimates only.
Open the sizing calculator and add a row with the watts from your heater's rating plate (or the setting you'll use) and the hours.
How many watts is an electric heater?
| Heater (maker's UK page) | Type | Stated watts |
|---|---|---|
| Dimplex Desk Friend | Ceramic fan heater | 400 W (two heat settings) |
| Dimplex ECR15 | Oil-free column radiator | 500 W, 1 kW or 1.5 kW settings |
| De'Longhi Radia S TRRS0920 | Oil-filled radiator | 900 W minimum, 2,000 W maximum (three settings) |
| Dimplex DXUC2BS | Upright ceramic fan heater | 2,000 W (three settings; watts per setting not stated) |
Examples only, to show the range. Your heater's rating plate gives its own figure.
Step 1: power (watts). Can it run at all?
Compare the heater's watts (on the setting you'll use) with the power station's stated continuous AC output. If the heater's watts are higher, the power station's overload protection may switch the output off.
Some makers offer a boost mode for heating devices. Anker, for example, says SurgePad delivers the power station's rated power to higher-wattage devices (Anker UK user guide), so a heater may get less than its rating plate says and run cooler (our inference). See what surge power means and the hairdryer guide for how makers describe these modes. A boost mode doesn't add energy: it only changes what the sockets will accept.
Step 2: energy (watt-hours). How long will it run?
Energy used = watts × time. From a power station's mains socket, allow for our assumed 10% inverter loss and 90% usable capacity on a LiFePO4 battery (methodology): about 810 Wh is available from a 1,000 Wh power station. At a constant draw (our arithmetic):
| Setting | Energy per hour | Running time from 810 Wh |
|---|---|---|
| 2,000 W | 2,000 Wh | about 24 minutes |
| 1,500 W | 1,500 Wh | about 32 minutes |
| 900 W | 900 Wh | about 54 minutes |
| 500 W | 500 Wh | about 1 hour 37 minutes |
| 400 W | 400 Wh | about 2 hours |
The heaters above have an adjustable thermostat, which switches the heat off and on to hold a temperature, so the average draw may be lower than the table (our note). How much lower depends on the room and the weather, so we can't give a figure.
For keeping one person warm in a power cut or a tent, an electric blanket uses far less: see our electric blanket guide.
Safety
Electrical Safety First's advice on portable heaters (Electrical Safety First):
- Avoid powering a heater from an extension lead, as they can easily be overloaded.
- Keep it at least one metre away from combustible materials, and never dry clothes on or close to it.
- Never leave it unattended while in use or while you are asleep. It recommends not using a portable heater overnight.
- Use an RCD plug on the socket where it is plugged in.
Keep the power station on a hard surface with space to ventilate, follow both manuals, and never connect a power station to your home's wiring. See our safety guide.
Compare stated continuous AC output and capacity across models on the spec table.
FAQs
Can a portable power station run a space heater?
Only if its continuous AC output covers the heater's watts on the setting you use, and even then not for long. A 2,000 W heater uses about 2,000 Wh an hour.
How long will a power station run a 2kW heater?
On our assumptions, about 810 Wh is available from a 1,000 Wh power station's mains sockets: about 24 minutes at 2,000 W.
What is the lowest-wattage electric heater?
Small heaters exist: Dimplex lists its Desk Friend fan heater at 400 W. At 400 W, 810 Wh lasts about 2 hours.
Is an oil-filled radiator better on a power station?
It still draws its rated watts while heating. De'Longhi lists 900 W to 2,000 W for its Radia S. Compare the setting you'll use with the power station's continuous output and capacity.
Related: Electric blanket · Hairdryer · Kettle · Power cuts
Sources
- Dimplex UK, DXUC2BS upright ceramic heater: 2000 W, three power settings, watts per setting not stated; checked 2026-10-24
- Dimplex UK, Desk Friend ceramic fan heater: 400 W, two heat settings; checked 2026-10-24
- Dimplex UK, ECR15 oil-free column radiator: settings 500 W, 1 kW, 1.5 kW; checked 2026-10-24
- De'Longhi UK, Radia S TRRS0920 oil-filled radiator: heating power max 2000 W, min 900 W, three settings; checked 2026-10-24
- Anker UK user guide: SurgePad up to 2,400 W, delivers rated power; checked 2026-10-18
- Electrical Safety First: avoid extension leads, one metre from combustibles, never unattended or while asleep, not overnight, RCD; checked 2026-10-24